how i’m documenting my study abroad trip

2011 london study abroad project life
Quote in the top right is from Elise Joy. It’s hard to see, but on the USA cutout, I wrote “Goodbye USA. See you later!” in a silver pen. The button marks where I left from, Missouri.

This winter marks the 4 years since I went to London to study abroad. It was seriously the best experience I had during my college years, and I truly recommend it to anyone who is even flirting with the idea.

During these 4 years, I have done nothing to document this trip. I have all of the photos printed, memorabilia sorted, and old blog posts that were written in real time, but I haven’t put the three together in a physical album for my children’s children me to look at.

I really enjoyed the Project Life system that I did to document 2012. I’m planning on doing it to document 2013 & 2014 too, but I also thought it would be great to document my study abroad trip as well. I took way too many photos during my months abroad, so I knew I needed a way to put a lot of photos on one page.

2011 london study abroad project life
Cover Page

2011 london study abroad project life

I had hoarded  bought a lot of vintage looking scrapbook paper for the past 4 years, specifically for this study abroad album. There was no one kit from the Project Life system that just screamed out “This is your study abroad experience paper!!!”. I’m a true believer that paper used for memory keeping must bring some sort of connection to whatever you’re trying to record. So, I decided to cut up all of my vintage looking scrapbook paper to make my own Project Life system. It’s definitely easier to buy the Project Life kits, but it was also fun to incorporate my own paper that I had originally fallen in love with into this album.

2011 london study abroad project life
Page 1-2. I’ll be journaling my experience at a later time in the two blank looking paper areas.
2011 london study abroad project life
“You Are Here” stamp is from Elise Joy. I didn’t let the ink dry long enough before putting in inside the album. Lesson learned!

 

2011 london study abroad project life
The emoji stamps are from A Beautiful Mess

I’m sure there will be more update posts to come in the future, but here are the first three pages in the album.

One thought on “how i’m documenting my study abroad trip

Leave a comment